Surviving the 5 Stages of Grief

October 7, 2019 | Categories:

When you’re trying to find the right funeral homes Evanston, IL, it’s likely that you’re dealing with a lot of grief. Death is never easy. It can change your entire worldview and leave you trembling and wishing that things are different.

funeral homes Evanston, IL-.3

It’s often said that grief passes through five stages. Keep reading to find out what they and how you can get through it.

1. Denial

During this stage, you can’t believe what’s happening to you. You still expect to hear that it was all a joke, a strange hoax that’s going to be corrected at any moment. The fact that your loved one is never coming back is very, very hard to process.

During this stage, it’s normal to want to be left alone. Being around other people may feel like too much effort.

2. Anger

You can’t deny what happened forever. At some point, reality will catch up with you and you will hve no choice but to acknowledge what happened. You might become consumed with anger at this point. These feelings are natural but they aren’t easy to overcome.

3. Bargaining

As the anger fades and you begin to feel helpless, you might slip into bargaining mode. At this point, the question becomes, what can you do to change your fate? You can’t bring your loved one back but you may promise to start being “good” to prevent such a terrible thing from happening to you again.

4. Depression

This is the hardest part for many people. You’ve accepted what’s happening to you but you feel terrible. You become depressed. It may be hard to get out of bed in the morning or to eat and drink normally. Fighting depression can take up all of your energy. There’s no way to predict how long this stage will last. All you can do is be kind to yourself.

5. Acceptance

This is the final stage. It doesn’t mean that you’ve moved on or that you no longer miss your loved one. It just means that you accept what happened as a reality that you can’t change. You begin to move forward in your life.

To reach the acceptance stage, you may need to go to therapy. Discussing your feelings with a professional provides guidance, a voice that you can depend on. However, there’s no guarantee that you will reach this stage.

Grief can destroy your life. It’s appropriately described as harrowing. Unfortunately, death is an unavoidable part of life. At some point, you will have to deal with it. When you do, the best thing that you can do is try to handle yourself gracefully and respectfully, whatever that means for you and your culture.

Haben Funeral Home & Crematory can be your funeral homes Evanston, IL. We’re located at 8057 Niles Center Rd, Skokie, IL, 60077. If you have any questions you’d like answered before you stop by, please call (847) 673-6111. We’re happy to help guide you through this complicated process. Our team is comprised of dedicated, visionary professionals working toward a common goal.